9 comments on “No Such Thing as a Free Lunch

  1. Religious/spiritual beliefs are best kept personal. Bible-thumpers are many times insecure hypocrites looking to make themselves feel better by getting people, many times unwilling people, to listen to their pitches. They seem to think wearing their religion on their sleeves is a badge of honor when it’s extremely annoying to any thinking person. The Golden Rule is still the best one, and “live and let live” is right behind it.

  2. I like what you said. You treat people the way you want to be treated. I think that’s a good way to live one’s life. It is too bad Mitch can’t see that as he is too busy spreading the word of his so called god. I can’t help but wonder what his god would think of him sticking you for a lunch. I think it’s just another example of how religion makes people nuts. No doubt he was judging you by what you were saying and in his judgement decided you didn’t deserve the lunch. Again, nuts and also over the top. I do hope the fool reads this.

  3. I so very much remember that column you wrote about the bus ride and the lady on it with her bible and trying to save you. I don’t know if you still ride the bus (always loved your bus stories) but I want you to know it still goes on. An idiot tried to “save me” just a few weeks ago. Like you, I had to change seats!

  4. Yep, just cut your losses and learn from this. I think if I were writing that story, I would have used the guy’s right name and teach him a lesson.

  5. Larry, A lot of thoughts ran thru my head after reading this. When we get together we can discuss it. But as a “believer” I will say this, I don’t think Christ would have approved of Mitch’s technique. As I recall he appealed to those he wanted to follow him, winning them over not putting them on the spot and certainly not reneging on offers he made to them. Isn’t there something in the Bible about keeping your word? What if you didn’t have the money for the bill. Would he say, “Well too bad. That’s what happens to people who don’t change their beliefs after a five minute conversation with me. ” If you had pretended to see it his way, then what? Would he have taken you to the grocery store

  6. For the most part, I agree with what Janet is saying. While, like you, I’m not a believer, I have many friends who are. We simply agree to disagree and leave it at that. This Mitch character is an odd duck. My guess is if you had folded like a house of cards, you would have gotten that free lunch but there would have been a price to pay for that — namely the guy would still be in your hair. People like Mitch give religion a bad name. You held your ground and were punished for it. But count your blessings. I’m not telling you to look to the heavens when you do — just count 🙂

Leave a Reply

