11 comments on “Taking Care of Business

  1. When it comes to employment, it is a young person’s world and even they struggle. These are hard times.

  2. Your Yahoo column rings very true.

    What most employers don’t seem to understand is that older employees have a much better work ethic than the young kids out there today. Those employers, if you’re not young and perfect, dismiss older people right away. part of the problem is the person doing the interviewing is young themselves. They don’t get it, don’t understanding it.

    Good luck to you. The way I’m looking at it is at least you can keep writing and we all can enjoy it. Their loss is our gain.

  3. I want to say I am enjoying your Yahoo columns but I hope this does not mean the end of your work in City Beat. I really love those columns.

  4. Audrey, the CityBeat columns will continue. The next one will be at the end of this month or the first of July.

  5. My dad, in his early 60’s got laid off two years. He can’t fine a job and he is the kind of guy who can walk faster than me. I can’t imagine walking with a cane and trying to find work. At least you got your writing.

  6. Continue writing. I just purchased your book. At least that will put some money in your pocket.

  7. Larry, they don’t know what they are missing in not hiring you. You were one of the best bosses I ever had. You taught me most everything I know about accounting. You encouraged me to take at least accounting 101, which to this day enables me to have a halfway intelligent conversation with our CFO when H/R and accounting intersect (thru payroll). If they are too close minded to look past your age, then they don’t deserve the hard-working, EXPERIENCED, and intelligent employee they could have had. I sincerely mean that.

Leave a Reply

