15 comments on “Beginning Year No. 3 in Covington

  1. In going to shows at the Madison, I can tell that Covington needs a facelift. It looks rundown and needs a good cleaning too. It needs a bath!

  2. RN, If you believe Covington is worse than other downtown areas, you are very mistaken. The crimes that happen there are no different than downtown Cincinnati, Newport, or even Clifton Gaslight. Cars are broken in there all the time, banks are robbed, etc. For any of these urban areas, more guns are not the answer. When crime starts to get out of control, more police should be hired. This raises taxes, yes, but if urban living is the desired state of mind, higher taxes are the reality. And let the police have the guns as they know how to use them.

  3. Sure, Hank, raise taxes and get more police who will have all the guns. Brilliant. Not.

  4. I don’t think there is any reason to bring up cops and guns here. Those of us who live in urban neighborhoods know the risk and know we take the good parts with the bad parts. To me, the good outweighs the bad.

  5. I was the gal in the truck waving at you this morning when you were sitting at the bus bench at Walgreens. I took one look, saw the hair and the cane and the cigarette and knew it was you!

  6. Having lived in Covington almost all my life, I see the changes that have happened over the years and especially downtown. I went back and reread your City Beat column and once again I cannot argue with any of it. Those empty storefronts make me sad and I badly want Covington to make a comeback. There is a lot of rich history here.

  7. I will begin my third year Labor Day weekend, and I don’t plan to leave anytime soon. I do not live downtown, but I enjoy going down! I’ve never felt afraid.
    I think there are some good things happening in Covington and I look forward to seeing more!!

  8. Covington is okay but to make some money you should charge tickets to that daily show outside Walgreen’s at that bus bench.

  9. Larry, always love your musings. One little correction: Steve Frank is merely a commissioner, not the mayor.

  10. Don’t make friends with the people who run that Covington News page. You are too smart for them. Richard and Charlene need to get jobs, lives, hobbies… something. They just need to get off Facebook and stop complaining. It’s far more negative than anything you’ve had to say.

Leave a Reply

