8 comments on “Allensville, Indiana

  1. I had a grade school teacher, Mrs.Jay. She taught me one basic lesson. Always be true to yourself. I still carry those words around with me.

  2. I’m also a big fan of the writings of James Thurber and I’m glad he got a mention in your Yahoo column. Thurber is becoming a forgotten writer and that shouldn’t be the case. He was well ahead of his time and his words still hold up.

  3. I wish I also had a teacher who made a difference in my life. So far, I haven’t. So far, the teachers I’ve had are just killing time or waiting for their paychecks.

  4. Thurber is a giant of American literature, and he has not been forgotten–The Library of America has several of his collections back in print. They’re a bit pricey, but the editions are excellently printed and bound. You might want to check them out.

Leave a Reply

