10 comments on “Five Tips on Writing

  1. I thought this was interesting, especially the tip about reading the work out loud. Makes perfect sense to me!

  2. I have thought about starting a blog much like you have here but I don’t think I could come up with material on a regular basis. I don’t think I have a writers mind but I want to! We are all different I guess.

  3. I thought about being a writer once but the thought of having to live on Ramen Noodle Soup for the rest of my life didn’t appeal to me.

  4. Your tips are solid, especially the one on being observant. I would add, whenever possible, have someone else read your writing. A “cold eye” picks up vagueness or errors better than your own.

  5. Tuck,

    I couldn’t agree more. Most other places where I write has at least one editor to read it over (and still mistakes sometimes get in), but for here, I’m pretty much on my own. I appreciate your comment.

  6. By the way, after I read your column yesterday, I read Elmore Leonard’s obit in The New York Times. Check it out. It includes a link to his “Ten Rules for Writing,” solid and entertaining tips anyone could use. His first: “Never open a book with weather.”

Leave a Reply

