14 comments on “Remembering 1968

  1. I loved your article, Larry and I also think it is good that being bullied in school is now being addressed more openly now. It happened to me back in high school too so many years ago and you are right. You do not get over it. Thanks for writing your brother’s story.

  2. What Thersea said. I finally “got over it” about 20 years ago, but, the memory of those acts of unkindness belie the old saying “sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.” Now that the keyboards of Twitter and Facebook can be additional weapons of cruelty, I think it takes even more personal strength to withstand the wordspills of the mean and the thoughtless.

  3. I’m with you, Larry, Thersea and Karen. Those hurtful words from so many years ago have stayed with me. Will bullying every go away? I kind of doubt it but it is so much more out in the lpen now and it is no longer kids just being kids.

  4. Some of our children are killing themselves over all this bullying. The schools AND THE PARENTS need to step up and stamp this out!!

  5. It seems to me that bullying comes into play at high school. I don’t think I was ever bullied before that. Maybe it has something to do with teenage kids who have to prove themselves somehow. I was never bullied a lot but I remember when I was and that feeling of being inferior. I am mostly over it now, but you are right. You never truly forget about it.

  6. I agree with the several here and also on Facebook that think this is one of your exceptional columns. A few think that bullying is something new that is happening. As you point out it has been around for a long time, at least since 1968. Job well done.

  7. Most schools and teachers are working constantly on bullying, but cyber-bullying is much harder to deal with, technology making it easier for insecure, cowardly bullies to get away with their brand of ugly personal terrorism.

  8. This cyber bullying exists on a lot of blogs that I have learned to stay away from. That doesn’t seem to happen much here and I’m grateful for that.

Leave a Reply

