12 comments on “Dick Cavett on Robin Williams and Depression

  1. Word is coming out now about Robin and the kindness it showed toward others. Yes, it is a shame.

  2. Cavett’s article was the best piece I’ve read about Williams. From a personal standpoint, your column was spot on, as well as reassuring. I wish more people understood that depression is as dehabilitating and mind numbing as a physical problem.

  3. I have been on medication for depression for many years. Some days are better than others. I have never been truly suicidal but dark, unpleasant thoughts to arise from time to time. I feel so sad about Robin and those demons he couldn’t control. At least, he is at peace now.

  4. As you know, Larry, I also suffer from depression. I don’t communicate that fact to many people especially employers. In the real world out there, there is still a stigma associated with this illness. Karen is right as it is just as dehabilitating an illness as a physical. I want to think Williams’ death will shed some light on this subject but I’ve thought that before with other deaths. Until the tide turns it is safer to be quiet about it.

  5. I have been depressed in my life but I am beginning to understanding there is a difference between that and the illness. I feel bad for those who have it.

  6. Cavett’s essential point about depression is simply that many deeply depressed people not only don’t care about themselves but also lose their abilty to care for others. As a lucky one who has only felt “down” in a few periods of my life, I can understand that. It explains why suicide is such an option for the truly depressed. And, if the talk of Williams having early symptoms of Parkinson’s disease are true, that makes his suicide even more understandable–still tragic, but almost logical. He was the stereotypical “sad clown” whose mind was always moving too fast.

  7. Doesn’t Michael J. Fox have Parkinson’s? He’s not killing himself. He’s dealing from it.

  8. Perhaps Michael J. Fox isn’t suffering from severe depression, Brian. Maybe think before you comment. A lot of the time, you sound like an idiot.

  9. I suffer from a form of depression called dysthemia. It’s not as severe as a full-blown depressive episode. Instead it makes up for that by being a low level depression that’s chronic – meaning it’s here all the time. It’s kind of like instead of the clouds not gathering, it’s every single day is mostly cloudy and overcast.

  10. liberal, we’re in the same boat as I also have dysthemia, have had it for years. Guess a person can get used to anything.

Leave a Reply

