12 comments on “The Goodbyes From Glen Campbell

  1. It’s so sad to know he is slowly slipping away but he must have good people around him. They were smart enough to get him to record his touching song. His vocals are spot on too.

  2. It is a beautiful song but it is all so sad. Glen has a wonderful and supportive wife. I feel so sorry for her.

  3. Sort of a fan of his, recorded a lot of good songs in his day. I can’t help but remember his “romance” with Tanya Tucker. What a mess that was.

  4. It is a very sad situation but looking on the positive side, Campbell did have a rich and full life.

  5. I remember my parents watching his “Goodtime Hour” on television and they had or have a few of his albums. I listened to that song you have posted here. It’s sad but beautiful.

  6. An outstanding natural guitarist, he was part of the “Wrecking Crew” that backed The Byrds, the Mamas and Papas and many other 60s artists. He also played guitar for producer Phil Spector (now imprisoned) and his stable of artists. He began singing as a temporary member of the Beach Boys and, as you note, recorded great songs, several by Jim Webb, including huge hits “By the Time I Get to Phoenix” and “Wichita Lineman.” At times, his romantic life was a mess, but he is only human. He will be remembered as an excellent musician and singer.

  7. I know Campbell was considered a Country Music artist and I never understood that. Tuck mentions “Phoenix” and “Lineman,” both excellent songs but nothing country about them. Even “Rhinestone Cowboy” was not country. Maybe it’s all good. Maybe this is a sign we should do away with labels when it comes to good music.

  8. While his records weren’t all that country I remember on his show having a jam session with Jerry Read and John Hartford and some others with even a little bluegrass thrown in. This was my favorite part of the show.

  9. I bore very easily and am hard to entertain. The first time I saw Glen play that Ovation guitar I jumped up so high like you would for a home run in the bottom of the 9th in the World Series. I now have a hobby (guitar) that I will have for the rest of my life. Thank you, Glen, for introducing me to the sounds of a fantastic instrument!

    Musically Inclined in Cincy

Leave a Reply

