12 comments on “Classic Books and Horrible Reviews

  1. It looks like I have only read a couple of them but my favorite is To Kill a Mockingbird. What a treasure that novel is!

  2. I’m so ashamed! I only read To Kill A Mockingbird and that was at gunpoint in high school. But I have read Lord of the Rings four times.

  3. Don’t feel too bad, John. That’s the only one I read too and in high school. I’m more of a John Grisham type of reader.

  4. Maybe “To Kill a Mockingbird” is a classic but I know it is also FORCED reading on school kids.

  5. TKAM is good “forced” reading–it contains some history disguised as fiction and solid moral truths, and that can open many kids’ minds. I think Capote may have helped Lee, but it’s definitely her book. His style is quite different.

  6. I’m a Hemingway guy, so I’ve read all of his work and To Kill a Mockingbird, of course, as an assignment in school.

Leave a Reply

